JAVA-Difficulties We Face

Write here if you have problems with your Java source code

Moderator: Board moderators

Vexorian
Learning poster
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2006 5:50 am

Post by Vexorian » Sat Feb 10, 2007 2:14 pm

You can just use gcj to compile your java programs before submitting, it should get rid of most of the issues.

The second statement up there is 'true', but it is missunderstood, the issue is that the normal Java was not as easy to block from reading files for the admins as gcj.

ujjal.ruet
New poster
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Sep 02, 2010 3:10 pm
Location: Dhaka,Bangladesh
Contact:

Re: JAVA-Difficulties We Face

Post by ujjal.ruet » Fri Sep 24, 2010 7:10 am

I have learned Java a little.Now I am trying to use Java for UVA.I have submitted 100 no.it is runtime error.I think ,it is for Scanner.You please help me take input from standard input ensuring EOF.My code is given below.

Code: Select all

import java.io.*;
import java.util.*;

class Main {

   static int cycle(int m)
     {
        int i = 1;
 while (m != 1){
     if (m % 2 == 0){
             m = m/2;
                }
  else{
   m = 3*m+1;
        }
     i++;
    }
    return i;
}





public static void main(String ars[]){
  String input;
int a,b,tm,ma,mb,max,i,ttm;
StringTokenizer s;
 Scanner k=new Scanner(System.in);


  while((input=k.nextLine())!= null)
  {
   s=new StringTokenizer(input);   
   a=Integer.parseInt(s.nextToken());
   b=Integer.parseInt(s.nextToken());
   ma=a;mb=b;
  if(a>b)
   {
  tm=a;
  a=b;
  b=tm;
   }
  max=cycle(a);
  for(i=a+1;i<=b;i++){
      ttm=cycle(i);
     if(ttm>max)
         { tm=ttm;
           ttm=max;
           max=tm;
         }
  }
 System.out.println (ma + " " + mb + " "+max );
  
  }
 
   } //main


}//class

Post Reply

Return to “Java”