10808 - Rational Resistors

All about problems in Volume 108. If there is a thread about your problem, please use it. If not, create one with its number in the subject.

Moderator: Board moderators

Abednego
A great helper

10808 - Rational Resistors

Post by Abednego » Sun Jan 16, 2005 9:16 am

Did I scare everybody with the warning? It was only there to discourage timeout submissions during the contest. The problem is not that difficult. :-)
If only I had as much free time as I did in college...

Christian Schuster
Learning poster

Post by Christian Schuster » Mon Jan 17, 2005 11:31 am

Is there a way other than solving a linear system of equations?

nnahas
New poster

Post by nnahas » Mon Jan 17, 2005 4:01 pm

Christian Schuster wrote:Is there a way other than solving a linear system of equations?
I don't think so . my background is in computer engineering and we took several electric circuits courses, and this problem is a very classical one . The method to solve it is called the "Node Voltage Method" (you can find several web sites detailing it). I think one possible problem is the need for large integer arithmetic . I don't know if 64 bits integer are enough .
All I can say is that 110 bits ought to be enough for the largest numerator and denominator, here is why : By Cramer's rule, every solution to n equations in n unknowns is a ratio of certain determinants (you may look up Cramer's Rule to know which exactly). Using Leibniz formula for the determinant http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Determinant we can see that each determinant will a sum of products of n entries of the matrix . since there will be n! products in the sum , the total number of bits needed will be bounded by lg(n!)+ (nb) where b is the number of bits needed to represent a single entry, so b will be 4. 4*16 +lg(16!) < 110 so we won't need more than 110 bits.